Skip to content

Bog-handling, and other end of year musings

This Winter I have walked through many bogs. Some I entered deliberately, others I just sort of ended up in. Today I went for a walk to wash my boots in the stream and on the way back found myself in yet another bog. This led me to contemplate a few bog-related matters.

1)   There will always be another bog. It is fruitless to hanker after a bogless reality.

2)   I do not especially mind whether I am in a bog or not. Some people are having the time of their lives in bogs. It really doesn’t matter.

3)   The word ‘bog’ is pleasingly simple and direct. Everyone knows what a bog is. A bog is not trying to be anything other than itself.

4)   Bogs don’t last forever.

5)   Nobody is going to save you from the bog. I realise now that many of the songs I have written up until now have actually been about bogs. For example the song ‘Save Me,’ on my EP released earlier this year: heavy mental boggery. ‘Skin,’ also on the EP: all bogs are subject to change.

On the way home I noticed I had also been formulating some new year’s resolutions, inspired in part by the National Federation of Fish Friers. Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. walk up more hills in the rain
  2. create things just for fun
  3. stop giving up being an actor
  4. cultivate camaraderie

    “Bringing the fish and chip industry together since 1913”

  5. come up with a good way to describe your music to people at parties
  6. stop worrying about how to describe your music to people at parties
  7. stop lamenting the fact that you are a crazy perfectionist and find a manager who is able to handle your turbulent genius
  8. love and be loved, make love, give love
  9. dance more
  10. expect less

Happy new year everyone

X

Leave a Reply

