Skip to content

Fear And Loathing in Cavendish Square

Tonight I have been rehearsing for the Liars’ League. I am performing a story for their monthly night this Tuesday – the theme is ‘Fear and Loathing.”

The story I am reading is by Niall Boyce, whose work I have had the pleasure of reading before at a similar event a few years ago.

Liars’ League, if you’re not familiar with it, is a monthly live fiction night, where professional actors read new short stories by writers from around the world. (I lifted that definition from their website, because it’s late, and I really should be sleeping soon…)

It is always a most enjoyable evening, and Niall is an adorable doctor turned writer with a flair for the dark and disturbing. Not in his doctoring, of course. Just his writing. There are other stories being read too, all new and all in the vein of horror/sci-fi/haunty type stuff.

There’s more info here on Facebook – it’s held downstairs at The Phoenix, Cavendish Square, W1G 0PP, near Oxford Circus tube. Not incidentally, The Phoenix on Shaftesbury Avenue, which is where I was going to go until I researched it in order to write this blog. Which is why blogging is a socially useful activity. Because now I will be there and not somewhere else. Good night.

Oh P.S. there’s also going to be a brand new story by Stephen King! He’s famous and brilliant! I probably should have mentioned him earlier.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Interesting blogs. Be careful doing electrics in that cellar, it looks a lot like a cellar I looked at once that I considered wiring up for band practice. I decided it was too damp! I mentioned to a friend yesterday that I was planning to go to the theatre; she was shocked by that, more shocked when I said; Shakespeare! I’m planning a holiday and I hope to cram in everything i have wanted to do for years. It has to be Stratford and hopefully I can go when there is horse racing on and something good at the theatre! I need inspiration for my photography and writing and I think that’s where I’ll find it, the fact my ancestors lived there is a bonus!

    Keep on blogging. I hope the studio turns out well.

    October 11, 2011
    • How wonderful. Which play are you going to see? It is very pretty, I’m sure you’ll get some good pictures. I seem to remember there is a nice river with swans. And lots of teashops where you can sit and write and eat scones. Thanks for your encouragement. I will post some pictures of us actually recording music shortly.

      October 13, 2011
      • Hi Annalie,

        I think there is a tower at the RSC theatre too with great views. I hope to see Romeo and Juliet or maybe the Merchant of Venice. It depends what’s on the same week as the horse racing! I most want to go in the same pub as all the actors and writers! There are amazing lock keepers cottages and I have seen a cottage to rent near Anne Hathaway’s cottage complete with 4 poster bed! lol I have to have a medical diet and so self-catering is a must, so have to plan that. I might even buy a bike so I can really tour the town. I was very sick and so this is a major event for me!

        October 13, 2011
  2. Oh no, I’m sorry you were so ill. Definitely there are some amazing pubs, I went to one but I can’t remember what it was called of course. I love The Merchant of Venice. And Patrick Stewart – you can’t really go wrong. In fact, I think I’ve just talked myself into going too…

    October 13, 2011
  3. LOL. I think the RSC has a theatre in London. They may be doing Robin Hood. My grandparents and other ancestors come from Stratford and so another reason to go and it’s only 50 miles mostly by motorway. I’m not quite well enough but by next June should be able to make it.

    October 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

